Carroll College

2015 Football Captains Announced

Contributed by admin on Aug 24, 2015 - 11:28 PM

Picture 0 for 2015 Football Captains Announced

HELENA, Mont. – Head Coach Mike Van Diest announced the captains for the 2015 season as voted on by the members of the team after fall camp.

Mac RocheJames DowginRyan ArmstrongGreg Tucker and Shayne Durbin were all named captains.

"I don't think it is a surprise to anyone when you look at the guys who were voted captains," Van Diest said. "I think there are some other guys that would make great captains but there is no doubt in the leadership that these five bring."

In addition Van Diest appoint three senior non-captains to the senior leadership team who, along with the captains, will be involved in matters concerning the players.

Josh JamesKyle Smith and Dylan Simac were named to the group and Van Diest believes they bring a lot to the table.

"All eight of these seniors have grown so much in their time here and I want them to be leaders at their positions," Van Diest said. "With eight guys we have all of the positions covered and these guys can be a voice of their teammates."

The Saints open the Season on Sept. 5, when they host defending national champion Southern Oregon at Nelson Stadium at 1 p.m.